Magic Bugs

Walk_Family_Spring2017-034

I read the first line of Beth’s email last summer and was ecstatic…”expecting baby #2″…YES!  Only to have my heart skip a beat while reading the next line…”will be born in London”… Wait.  What?  No!

Before you think me too possessive of my longtime clients (I am, I totally am), here is one of my earliest memories of Beth and Mitch.  They were newlyweds dressed in wedding finery and we were taking portraits in the vineyard rows when Sam and I saw the magic bugs.  The sun was going down fast and we didn’t have enough time to talk about circles of confusion and whatnot so we gave the following directive, hoping they would be on board.  “OK, here’s what you do.  Trust me on this.  See that swarm of gnats down there?  Just run through it and then kiss.  Cool?  OK, go.”

Ninety-nine percent of newly wedded couples dressed in tuxes and heels would have at least hesitated.  Um, kiss in some bugs?  Are you sure? Because thats… kinda gross.  Not a pause from Beth and Mitch though, she grabbed his hand and they went laughing and I remember thinking to myself, “Now that is some awesome trust.  I think I like them.”

Over the years we have discovered a mutual love of great beer, witty humor, craft and some very select 90’s music and I more than like them.  I kind of adore them.

I didn’t want to lose them.  Baltimore seemed really far away back when I lived in Richmond but London is…. actually far.  But if any couple out there is suited for trusting in the spirit adventure to create something new and unusual for themselves, I would say its this one:

288_blog

But it looks more like this now:

Walk_Family_Spring2017-004

I’m so grateful that this beautiful family took the time to make portraits during a quick trip back home this spring, they had so many people who love them to catch up with.  Beth, a talented photographer herself, did some location scouting and found perfect settings both at Fells Point and in Mount Vernon Square near the first apartment they shared in Baltimore.  Elsa has grown up so much since I saw her last and I finally had the opportunity to meet this beautiful British belle, Rosie!

Walk_Family_Spring2017-021-Edit

I have too many favorites from this session, there were profound moments of both motion and stillness and both spoke equal volumes.  I’m really grateful we’re still at it, taking pictures of magic bugs 10+ years after magic bugs.  That makes me feel pretty lucky.  The next round is on me.  Maybe London isn’t so far away.

Walk_Family_Spring2017-102

Walk_Family_Spring2017-103

Walk_Family_Spring2017-101

Walk_Family_Spring2017-015

Walk_Family_Spring2017-047

Walk_Family_Spring2017-052

Walk_Family_Spring2017-069

Walk_Family_Spring2017-089

Walk_Family_Spring2017-030

Walk_Family_Spring2017-019

Walk_Family_Spring2017-023

Walk_Family_Spring2017-037

Walk_Family_Spring2017-038

Walk_Family_Spring2017-078

Walk_Family_Spring2017-086

Walk_Family_Spring2017-090

Walk_Family_Spring2017-091

Walk_Family_Spring2017-107

Walk_Family_Spring2017-109

Walk_Family_Spring2017-118

Walk_Family_Spring2017-122

Walk_Family_Spring2017-112Walk_Family_Spring2017-124

Walk_Family_Spring2017-032

 

Leave a Reply

